Tempo 2017 is the 14th festival under the Tempo banner. Tempo — New Zealand’s only dedicated annual dance festival — features 30+ events, shows and workshops over 12 days. Each year more than 700 artists, including professional dancers and choreographers, students of dance, youth, community and cultural dancers, perform in a vibrant programme that celebrates the diversity of dance.  

Tempo’s philosophy is to increase, enhance and support society’s appreciation and experience of dance and how it relates to them. Audiences can choose from a selection of evening-length works, showcases and curated shared programmes that feature stunning and innovative dance works from New Zealand's top dance talent. Post-show forums and an artist honouring offer a 'behind-the-scenes' look into the art of making dance and the people who shape the dance community while workshops, masterclasses and free public engagement events invite the community to join in.

Tempo also caters for the ever-evolving New Zealand dance community, including both emerging and established artists. The festival has always been proud of its dedication to educating young dancers and choreographers by giving them opportunities to hone their craft in a centrally-located, high-profile theatre setting surrounded by professional artists, companies and production team.

Tempo also offers emerging artists mentoring support through a designated critical feedback process that aims to encourage both artistic and professional development.


The Tempo Team:

Artistic Director - Carrie Rae Cunningham

Finance and Administration Manager - Kirsty Brownfield

Artist Liaison & Youth Coordinator - Lisa Greenfield

Marketing - Sally Woodfield (SWPR)

Sponsorship & Fundraising - Merenia Gray

Publicity - Elephant elephantpublicity.co.nz

Production/Technical Manager - Jonny Cross


Design - Stefania Sarnecki-Capper (RED Design)

Videography and Video Design - Matt Gillanders (Archipela Ltd) & Jessie McCall (ALL YOU CAN EAT Productions)



  • Suzanne Smith - Chairperson
  • Dr. Nicole Bassett - Secretary
  • Lizzie Ross - Treasurer
  • Taane Mete (consultant)
  • Sarah Knox (consultant)
Back to top